WIPs Wednesday 4th March 2015

This past week I’ve been focusing on making flower headbands using cotton and mohair. I’ve also been playing with some knitted-in lace.

flower headband works in progress

At the start of the week the sun was streaming through my office, so I grabbed some cotton and found this pattern for making pansies. I attached it to a white cotton crochet chain and added a pearl bead as an embellishment. I’m really pleased with how it’s turned out.
Cotton and pearl blue and pink pansy tieback

Following on from the flower theme, I came up with my own pattern for creating a large sunflower. This one measures approximately 5cm in diameter and looks fabulous as an oversized flower. It’s attached to a black crochet chain to contrast against the flower.

Yellow and brown flower newborn tie back

I wanted to make something dainty to contrast against the cotton flowers I had made, so got out some of the gorgeous silk mohair yarn I’ve been working with recently and made a tiny little flower to match a pair of newborn trousers I’ve made recently.

Small flower pearl newborn posing prop

Finally, I had some knitted-in lace arrive that I had ordered the week before. After a few practices I figured out the best way to attach it to the pea bonnets I’ve been making. I love the effect, particularly as it really frames the face nicely. I’ve gone on to make these in a range of colours.

Photography props pea bonnets lace

What have you been making this past week?

6 thoughts on “WIPs Wednesday 4th March 2015

Leave a Reply

