Baby Bonnets – dreamy mohair and super soft acrylic

Last week we had the first bought of snow for the year. I absolutely love looking out the window and watching a blizzard. Unfortunately, whilst I wondered why there was water coming down our chimney I didn’t think to actually look out the living room window so I missed the whole thing. It wasn’t until I had to get the little lady from the childminders that I realised that it was snow, not rain, that was coming down and hitting the chimney balloon.

First snow of the year in bristol

I’ve been busy over the weekend making some very delicate newborn baby bonnets using Rowan Kidsilk Haze. This delicate yarn works up beautifully using a 5.5mm hook to create gorgeous patterns. I’ve made 3 so far, one in a v-stitch, one in a full shell and another in a shell after the crown. They’re so scrummy and lightweight. I wish I’d made one for the little lady when she was still small, it could have been used as a faux wig as she had no hair whatsoever and they’re snuggly warm too.

Mohair/silk newborn baby bonnet in salmon. Delicate photo prop

Grey shell bonnet in mohair. Incredibly delicate and prefect as a photo prop

I’ve also been making some lovely little 0-3 month hats using Stylecraft Special DK. This yarn is as soft as butter and a delight to work with as far as acrylic goes. It’s my go-to yarn for baby blankets at the moment also and the yarn I’m using for a few throws to go on our beds, although they’ll take me quite awhile to finish.

Cream acrylic baby hat in a lovely soft shell pattern 0-3 months

Leave a Reply

